Thursday Treats

1.

Mister and I enjoyed a beautiful weekend away in Opononi, Hokianga.  A lovely three hour drive north of Auckland.  My favourite photo of our trip, admiring the beauty of the beach at the Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga.

We rented a holiday house with a wrap around deck and amazing view of the beach and sand dunes.  A lovely house with retro decor, blue walls and an inviting atmosphere.

The gorgeous view we woke up to from the bedroom window.

The living room has a shelf filled with records. We played a few of our favourites including Bob Marley, Billy Joel and UB40.

The front bedroom which is connected to the living area and the lovely retro kitchen and dining room.

Mister snapping a photo of me on the final day of our trip.  Beautiful Opononi we shall return.

2.

Delicious treats of the week

Brunch-The most devine Mussell Fritters in Opononi

Lamb loin on a bed of spinach and aligot in a rich thyme emulsion and red wine sauce at The Copthorne Hotel & Resort-Bryers Room Restaurant

Oysters from Omapere-compliments of Steve and Maud. My favourite seafood delight.

Absolutely scrumptious chocolate chip cookie from Columbus Coffee.

3.

Elijah, my handsome nephew is an absolute delight.  At only six weeks old, Elijah has developed quite a humorous personality.  He makes my heart smile and he is such a joy to be around.

Elijah having tummy time.

4.

I enjoyed a stroll through the Auckland Botanic Gardens taking in the delight of spring (despite my hayfever).  During my high school years I would visit this place and dwell within the lively scent of flowers and feed the ducks in the pond.  One of my favourite places where I lose myself in the serenity of nature.

Spring at the Auckland Botanic Gardens

5.

This week’s national news has highlighted the issue of child poverty in New Zealand.  KidsCan is an organization in New Zealand supporting disadvantaged children.  One in four children in NZ live in poverty, alarming but realistic.  Child poverty is prevalent all over the world.  There are many ways to lend a helping hand.  The smallest gesture of giving can make a large difference.  Donating clothing or contributing to the food bank at the  Salvation Army is one of many ways to make a difference in your community.  I’m an avid supporter of our local Salvation Army.  How could you make a difference in your community regarding child poverty?

Check out the Thursday Treats category for more treats.

Love & laughter,
Curly Miri

26 thoughts on “Thursday Treats

  1. Thank you for sharing! I love that you have these photos! Someday you will look back and get to remember with more than your mind! I wish I had taken more pictures in my life!

  2. Hello! I saw you had visited my blog, and so I had to check out yours! I was captivated right away. Love the photos, and the fact that you are in NZ. I was so fortunate to visit NZ a few years ago and long to return for another visit. Absolutely beautiful! Thanks for giving me a lovely reminder of a beautiful place! ~ Sheila

  3. Thanks for the beautiful pictures and the story of your getaway. I firmly believe in the beauty of nature as a soothing balm. That lamb looks fantastic, too! 🙂

  4. You live in a beautiful part of the world – lucky you. But then again, so do I, just a different sort of beautiful. It is autumn here and the leaves have all changed to yellow, red and orange. It’s my favourite time of year.
    Lovely post. Thanks for visiting my blog and liking my post.

  5. Oh, how I miss New Zealand. I was just saying to my son today that we should move to New Zealand. He’s two and I know he would LOVE it! My partner and I spent 4 glorious months there, traveling around both the North and South Islands. We look forward to bringing our son there…thanks for posting such lovely photos as well as checking out my blog.

    • I am so glad you were able to experience our shores and have a wonderful time with your partner. It would be lovely for you to bring your son for a visit, no doubt he’ll love it too! Thank you for stopping by 🙂

  6. Pingback: Thursday Treats | Curly Miri

Leave a Reply

