Thursday Treats

Curly Miri, Livi, Kat & Marissa

1.

Mission Bay, a must ‘go to’ in Auckland to dine or take a stroll along the beach on a sunny day.  My cousins and I checked out Lunna Rossa and devoured the delectable pizza.

2.

Delightful & delicious treats of the week

I popped into Look Sharp and found these glass bottles, a $3 buy! I visited the local florist for a few stems of pretty white flowers. Glass bottle for a vase? Indeed!

Lovely dinner made by Mister, the best cook ever. Hoki fillet, steamed broccoli, and potato salad with a glass of Jacob’s Creek Riesling.

Coffee date with Mister at Hollywood Cafe.  Mocha’s with Apple Bran & Chocolate Chip muffins.  I’m always telling him to smile!  My handsome.

Mister snapping a pic of my ‘Mocha’ face

Mister enjoying his Samosa. His facial expressions always make me laugh.

3.

As mentioned in this post I am going to be an aunt for the first time and my nephew is due next week!  The Baby Shower was fantastic.  Great food, fun games and baby was gifted with so many lovely treats.

This is the beautiful Becca standing next to the baby shelf gift made by Mister and I, filled with baby books, clothing, soft toys and various baby essentials. I had so much fun collecting all the lovely bits and pieces. Can’t wait to meet my nephew!

Baby Shower Gifts

Yummy Baby Shower treats.

4.

I lost my laptop earlier this week.  I was upset as I had left my memory card and other valuables in my laptop bag.  Silly of me though, I left the laptop bag on the rooftop of the car while looking for my keys in my handbag, hopped into the car and drove away and did not realize what I had done until I reached my destination.  So many scenarios ran rampant through my mind.  Will it be in one piece if picked up by a stranger?  Will the stranger hand the laptop into the police?  I should have insured the laptop!  Why did I decide to rummage for my car keys in the dark and eat a Whittaker’s chocolate bar and not remove my laptop bag from the rooftop? Here is my status on FB regarding the lost laptop:

As you can see, my friends and family do not make fun of me at all (yeah right!).  Mister and I had a talk about material possessions and we came to the conclusion that some items offer a sense of comfort or normalcy to a person, however to strive for a happy life on the foundation of material objects is not a fulfilling concept of living.  Often we forget to stop and count our blessings or appreciate the people in our lives.  Take a moment to dwell within the love and beauty that surrounds you.  I had to agree when Mister said, “Miriama, it is just a laptop.” So I had to slap myself silly.

Now for the treat.  Mister bought me a new laptop.  Thank you my love.

5.

I received a txt last week as follows: “www.curlymiri.com”  My brother gifted me my very own domain name, definitely surprised me and made me smile.  Thank you!  Brother also advised I hop on the Twitter bandwagon, so if you’re on there connect with me @curlymiri
I would love to stay connected with you.

Here we are back in the innocent days of pink frilly dresses and toy cars.

 

Check out the Thursday Treats category for more treats.

Love & laughter,
Curly Miri

43 thoughts on “Thursday Treats

  1. love this post for many reasons.. happy pictures. lovely family, scrumptious food, humor and an adoring husband. Nice life (grinning)
    Thanks for sharing…
    Unfetteredbs

    • Thank you! Childhood pics are always great to look back upon, so many good memories. However, I don’t think I will be wearing a pink frilly dress anytime soon lol 🙂

  2. Sorry about the laptop! My laptop is probably the one possession that would cause me the most pain to lose because I keep everything on it. (Message to self–buy external hard drive and back it all up) So glad Mister came through with a new one for you. Enjoy!

    • Thank you, Sharon 🙂 Indeed, I need to get an external hard drive too and maybe not devour a whittaker’s chocolate bar while looking for car keys in the dark, lol!

  3. You and your mister look like such a good match, very couple-face? Sorry I don’t know how to describe in English, haha!

    But SUCH a sweet and thoughtful conversation and gift! 🙂

  4. A wonderful baby shelf! I can directly feel Mister´s and your pleasant anticipation for your nephew! And regarding your laptop: as you can see, loosing it was good for something else. Now you have a new one – enjoy your writing with this new super Samsung laptop; I envy you for it!

    • Good point, a new laptop is good however not investing in an external hard drive has left me without many photo’s of lovely memories. I enjoyed putting together the baby shelf, so much fun!

      • Hello Curly Mimi,
        Yes it´s true – it´s very pitty for your photos and memories. I would be also annoyed in fact. But you can nothing change – your pictures are lost but you have them in your memories for ever – the most of them at least. And now, when your nephew will be arriving, you will get so many new opportunities to take wonderful pictures again. I can´t wait to see the little guy on your blog!

  5. What a fun read! Your subjects – people, connection, beauty – prove your point about what’s important. Pizza is the foundation of the food pyramid; then chocolate, followed by ice cream! 😉

  6. I love Riesling, I love the mocha face and the bookshelf is so sweet ;). I’m sorry to hear about your laptop but it was nice that you could think it through and change your perspective. I’d like to think that I would eventually be able to do that too if it happened to me. Sometimes I’m stubborn though :).

    • A change of perspective is sometimes all we need, though I can be stubborn at times so I completely understand what you mean 😉 Riesling, definitely a treat. Thank you.

  7. If it makes you feel any better, I lost my laptop, ipad, important USB drives, iphone 4 and my favorite laptop bag…all in the same day.. the worst part, i was coming back home from a vacation with good memories but my laptop had all the pictures and we were dumb enough to delete it from the camera… i hope this makes you feel better.. but i know it still sucks…

    • Oh no! It does suck to lose photos of such loving and happy memories, however I have tried to focus on moving forward, making even more delightful memories to capture and save onto three different backup devices, LOL! As long as the memory is within you and the experience brought you happiness the material possession is not as significant as we perceive.

      • I completely agree with you. I do back up everything that i have in an external drive now. Read my blog about the 40 mile bike ride i just completed. I made sure to save all my pictures in my external drive already. LOL!. have a nice day! 😀

Leave a Reply

