To Be Loved

Five years of age.  You watched me from the balcony as I played in the backyard picking daisies and chasing butterflies.  You gazed at me lovingly with a beaming smile upon your face.  Your elegant features, serene and striking, and your greying hair tied up in a bun.  Your sun kissed chocolate skin glowing in the afternoon sun.  I smiled back at you, feeling so free as your presence filled me with the most beautiful essence of joy.

As I ran happily through the grass, a bee stung my foot and I yelled out in pain.  You came to my rescue, lifting me into your loving home.  I cried in your warm embrace as you sang a sweet Samoan lullaby and rubbed ointment on my aching foot.

Eight years of age.  Your smile turned into an expression of defeat and sorrow as you battled illness.  As I read one of my favourite stories to you-Jack and The Beanstalk, I yearned for you to smile.  You only looked at me with tired and helpless eyes, unable to speak.  I touched your hands, no longer full of warmth but hard with an unfamiliar coldness.  Your face still the epitome of love.  As you slept I sang for you, your lullaby.  I miss you, grandma.

What am I most grateful for?  To be loved.

Curly Miri © 2012

My grandmother dancing the traditional Samoan siva with me.

49 thoughts on “To Be Loved

  1. You brought tears to my eyes. I remember being loved also (& still am if I stop being such a grown up). I’m happy you got to feel it, and among the bittersweet, have beloved memories to share 🙂

  2. grandmothers have a special affinity with their grandchildren, and it’ll remain special throughout their lives. lovely and touching moment!

  3. There is nothing as beautiful or as strong as the love between a grandmother and her granddaughter. It’s an unconditional, selfless love. I was lucky to have two incredible, loving grandmothers and I loved them truly with all my heart & soul 🙂

  4. Yesterday, I cooked a dish I learned from watching and helping my Grandmother on holidays. As always, I could feel her looking over my shoulder; smiling. Theirs is a love like no other. Your story is very moving. I send you comfort today.

  5. “There is no happiness like that of being loved by your fellow creatures, and feeling that your presence is an addition to their comfort.” from Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Leave a Reply

