Thursday Treats

1.

I visited Eden Garden as I wanted to start the week feeling refreshed.  A beautiful place to escape and enjoy nature at its best.  Today is officially the start of Winter in the Southern Hemisphere, my favourite season.

2.

Mister and I checked out Kowhai Cafe in Manukau City.  I enjoyed a Mocha made by a cheerful barista named Arthur.  He sang the chorus of Adele’s ‘Turning Tables’ while making my coffee-3/5 for his singing effort and 5/5 for the coffee.

The hollandaise sauce on the Eggs Benedict was a bit sour but tasty otherwise. The black and white floral decor and wait staff give the place a friendly vibe.

Mister’s Big Breakfast-lower left of the photo is butter which they wrap in paper like a lolly-cute!

3.

I read this article and thought to myself:  Why have I not yet graduated?  I was supposed to graduate last year from university.  I avoided going on Facebook around that time as I wanted to steer clear of graduation status updates and avoid seeing photos of my peers in their graduation gowns.  No matter what the circumstances, I feel like I have dragged the past into the present and used it as a recurring excuse to not succeed.  I do fear failure however a discussion with a university colleague, my many talks with Mister and rethinking my priorities are contributing factors to the wakeup call that I needed to thrive.  I’m glad I came across this story as it furthers my realisation that the only barrier to my success is me.

4.

Mister and I checked out The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel.  A beautiful story of love, rejection, and new discovery in urban India which also signifies how culture and social factors influence the way we perceive and treat people.  A must see movie for those who love to laugh and at the same time appreciate characters that remind you of the extraordinary people in your life.

5.

Today’s view of the cloudless afternoon sky from our bedroom window.

Check out the “Thursday Treats” category for more weekly treats. 

Love & laughter,
Curly Miri

28 thoughts on “Thursday Treats

  1. Wow, the first photo is incredible! Happy winter to you! Here it’s getting hotter and hotter and hot coffees are being replaced with cold coffee-drinks and shakes 🙂
    One day I’d like to visit NZ! My little brother lived in Australia for 2 years, but never went to NZ, so it would be great to come there with my little brother 🙂
    And I so agree with your point number 3. Too often we ourselves compromise our success… It’s a problem of mine also, that I’m hoping to overcome.

  2. Oh, those photos, especially the one of the orange/yellow flowers, are BEAUTIFUL. And I totally know what you mean about dragging your feet and standing in the way of your own success. I finished my degree, but it wasn’t a degree I was passionate about. I thought I ought to get something “useful” because I saw a degree in creative writing is 10 shades of useless in the “real world.” And though I had work after college, unlike a lot of graduates, it’s a job where any bachelor’s degree would have been just fine. It’s also put me in a position where I’m deeply unhappy in my career, but because my needs are seen to, I just sort of stagnate. I have the personality type that can get complacent easily, and that’s my new battle. One needs to know one’s own weaknesses in order to overcome them, n’est pas?

    Also, mad love for the curls. Rock on with your gorgeous self!

    • I agree about knowing one’s own weaknesses. It did take me a while to confront my weaknesses, however once I realized it was time to move forward, my weaknesses were much easier to surpass. I’ve had a few people in my life who have encouraged me to take risks, pushed me out of my comfort zone and essentially made me realize that I no longer had to doubt myself or stay in an unhappy position. A few years ago I had a break from university and worked in finance, good money, job security, and benefits. However I wasn’t happy. My manager at the time pushed me to return to university, he basically said “Wtf are you doing here, go out there and do what you want to do, finish your degree and you’ll be happier for it” In essence, he was right. I am afraid of moving out of my comfort zone at times but taking risks and letting go of the insignificant has made me a lot happier. Your comment made me think about all this, lol. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

